Start blogging by creating a new post. You can edit or delete me by clicking under the comments. You can also customize your sidebar by dragging in elements from the top bar.
Michelle
4/30/2009 02:11:45 pm

Lol.. YayA. Im the first one.. Umm.. for me some of the poem didnt really make much sense, especially the ending part. But i thought that the rythm nd the ryhme was really good, like the 1st and 4th rows rhymed etc. It was really good cause it was the same through out the poem and held it together.
Thats all..
X

Reply
Darshh'
4/30/2009 02:25:28 pm

Heyy ..
I haught the poem was okay, didnt personally enjoy it that much. THe rhyming was good because it was subtle but effective and the way he described things in an unusal way was cool ..
Poem was hard to fet a grip of the understanding but im guessing the hunchback is an old man thats always at the park ??
xx

Reply
Cat
4/30/2009 02:27:11 pm

Hey, I to found the peom hard to understand in parts but I got the feeling that the hunch back was treated like an animal because he slept in the dog house.

Reply
Cat.......again
4/30/2009 02:28:14 pm

Also it seemed like he was an outcast and torment by people.

Reply
Bh
4/30/2009 06:27:04 pm

Hi All

yes, Catriona, you have picked up on something in your reference to the doghouse. Do you or anyone else have anything to say about the meaning and/or implications of "But nobody chained him
up" ?

Reply
Bh ....useful link
4/30/2009 06:47:07 pm

I forgot to add that I have put a link to some comments on the poem - they may aid your understanding. You will find the link on the Hunchback in the Park page. Another thing, Michelle, well done for picking up on the rhyme and rhythm in Dylan Thomas's poetry - it is in fact a significant characteristic of his work - you will also notice it in the reading of the poem. This is also referred to in the link I have referred you to in this post.
Does anyone else have a comment about this or the question in my previous post or about any other images in the poem? Looking forward to reading them ...

Reply
Jayde
5/1/2009 08:18:01 am

I didn't really get the middle part of the poem, but at the start and end it seems like the 'hunchback' is different than everyone else, and he has always been like that. I think he is an outcast like Cat said. It seems lke he chooses to sleep in a 'dog kennel' coz it says 'nobody chained him up'. The rhyming is really confusing coz its on random lines lol. :)

Reply
rainee
5/2/2009 02:47:21 pm

** It sounds like it was written quite along time ago. I agree with Jayde when she said that he seems that he is different from everyone else. It also sounded like he was thinking that everyone was was looking at him. He also seems quite self-conscious... **

Reply
Chels D
5/2/2009 05:31:53 pm

This poem was wierd . and i agree with the others about how he was different from most people , and he sounds like hes sounds as if hes homless or just an outcast . ididnt really get the point of the poem though ...
=]

Reply
Sheena E
5/3/2009 09:14:02 am

I didn't really get what the point was either. I think that 'the hunchback in the park' lived in quite rough conditions like a homeless person, but he doesn't really care what people think of him.

Reply
Felicityy.
5/3/2009 02:53:16 pm

I think this poem was well written, but it was confusing in parts. Like other people may have mentioned, the writer made it seem as if he was just an outcast rather than a homeless person. I did not understand this poem at all, but when it was explained it made more sense.

Reply
Chelsea P:)
5/3/2009 03:05:50 pm

I thought that this poem was confusing and hard to interpret. I only really understood the poem properly when we discussed it in class. What does the last bit mean, 'All night in the unmade park, after the railings and shrubberies'? I don't really get it.

Reply
Angela
5/3/2009 03:24:39 pm

I get it now!!
After going over it in class, it makes sense. He's homeless and lonely, and people (the truant boys from the town) mock him beacause he looks different.
I'm with Chelsea on this, what does the last bit mean? The last stanza is a little confusing, I don't think we really went over it in class. It sounds kind of creepy?
"the wild boys innocent as strawberries
Had followed the hunchback
To his kennel in the dark."
But the entire last stanza i don't really get.

Reply
Angela
5/3/2009 03:32:02 pm

Me again.
Just listened and re-read, and I dont agree with Michelle. The rhyming seems totally random, sometimes the 2nd and 4th lines rhyming, other times the 1st and last. I even noticed a few times that something in one stanza rhymed with something a few lines later in the next stanza. It seemed inconsistent and a bit random. Maybe it would make more sense if the stanzas were broken up differently. I don't really know. Just noticing.

Reply
aaron
5/3/2009 03:42:14 pm

didnt get the poem. why write a poem about a homeless guy for? whats it mean, what issues does it underline? or is it just a homeless person?

Reply
Antonie
5/3/2009 04:06:03 pm

Peom didnt really ryme that much, probaly because words might of been said differently back then, i didnt really understand what "In the fountain basin where I sailed my ship" ment, unless its a metaphor for where i drink my water.

Reply
5/3/2009 04:11:55 pm

The poem was quite weird for me. i didnt really understand the concept of the poem, and the point why it was written. nobody treats homeless hunchback people like animals, but i can understand the mockery by the children. i think it was really sad though, when it was explained to me- mean, imagine being treated like that ! gosh ! anyway, i dont think the poem was very well written, because if you just had to read it first hand, you would have absoloutley no idea what the poet was on about- talking about chains and strawberries and zoos and tigers and trees and hunchbacks.

Reply
Amy +]
5/3/2009 06:54:21 pm

Umm I didnt get the poem that much at first but once we went over it in class it started making alot more sense.I agree that this guy is quite weird but weird can also be unique (is that how you spell it? =])Am I right?
Also after you explained the whole "nobody chained him up " part his weird writing kinda made sense.Woah long comment +]

live long and prosper XD Haha ask in class

Reply
David
5/3/2009 07:04:58 pm

I had a hard time understanding this poem. It was pretty confusing but after going over it in class i understand it a lot better now. I agree with aaron, why write a poem about a HOMELESS GUY? It's pretty sad..... kind of. Not really.

Reply
BH
5/3/2009 08:51:57 pm

Well done, all of you. I'm glad tyo see evidence of reading each other's posts and thinking about the different aspects about the poem. Some of you are wondering why Dylan Thomas wrote the poem.
The simplest reason is that he recalled the man from experiences in his childhood.
If you are interested, you might like to go to the following site
http://www.newquay-westwales.co.uk/dylan_thomas.htm
(I'll put the link on the Hunchback page as well). This site includes some comments and photos of the park mentioned in the poem.

Reply
5/5/2009 06:59:30 am

I found this poem pretty hard to under stand but I like it and the words are very .

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    April 2009

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed